GENERAL INFORMATION

- There is no charge for burial of a qualified veteran at any state veterans cemetery. There is however, a burial fee for the interment of a spouse or dependent(s).
- A concrete vault or liner is required for a casket burial. (Exception: Eastern Carolina has pre-installed crypts/ Vaults are not permitted) Payment for the vault or liner is the responsibility of the veteran or their family. A vault or liner is not required for a cremation.
- All funeral expenses are the responsibility of the veteran, family, or their estate. The state veterans cemeteries provide a burial plot, opening and closing of the grave, a grave marker and installation, and perpetual care at no cost to the veteran.
- There are no graveside services.
 Services are held at a committal shelter or chapel on site.
- Caskets cannot be opened for viewing at the state veterans cemeteries. Viewings must be done at the funeral homes or locations other than the veterans cemeteries.
- Burial services are conducted Monday through Friday at 10am, 12pm, and 2pm.
- State Veterans Cemeteries do not conduct burial services on Saturdays, Sundays, or on State or Federal holidays.

WESTERN CAROLINA STATE VETERANS CEMETERY

896 Old US 70 Highway Black Mountain, NC 28711 (P) 828-669-0684 (F) 828-669-0685

COASTAL CAROLINA STATE VETERANS CEMETERY

110 Montford Point Road Jacksonville, NC Mailing Address P.O. Box 1486 Jacksonville NC, 28541 (P) 910-347-4550 (F) 910-347-3570

SANDHILLS STATE VETERANS CEMETERY

8220 Bragg Blvd Fort Bragg, NC Mailing Address P.O. Box 39 Spring Lake NC, 28390 (P) 910-436-5630 (F) 910-436-5727

EASTERN CAROLINA STATE VETERANS CEMETERY

164 Longs Plant Farm Road Goldsboro, NC 27534 Mailing Address P.O. Box 10556 Goldsboro NC, 27532 (P) 919-648-0510 (F) 919-778-7329 (Call for an Appointment)



Dept. of Military and Veteran Affairs

www.milvets.nc.gov



STATE VETERANS CEMETERIES

NC Department of Military & Veterans Affairs

This brochure is provided as an informal source of information and useful guide for those interested in the requirements and operations of the North Carolina State Veterans Cemetery Program. The information is written in general terms and should not be regarded nor taken as law or official regulation. The office law guiding the State Cemetery Program is established under *General Statues of North Carolina, Article 8A, Chapter 65*.

ELIGIBILITY

Qualified Veteran

Any former member of the U.S. Armed forces who <u>served on active duty, other</u> <u>than for training</u>, was terminated <u>under honorable conditions</u>.

A veteran who is entitled to retired pay for non-regular service (i.e. service in the Reserve Components or Army or National Guard) or a veteran who would have been entitled to retired pay for non-regular service, but for the fact that the person was under 60 years of age.

North Carolina Residency

Only those veterans who are legal residence of North Carolina are eligible for interment:

- 1. at the time of death;
- 2. for a period of at least 10 years or;
- 3. at the time of entry into the Armed Forces of the United States.

Dependent(s)

The spouse, widow or widower of a qualified veteran, a minor child who is unmarried and dependent on the qualified veteran at the time of death. A minor child includes a child under the age of 21 years of age or under 23 years of age if pursuing a course of instruction at an educational institution approved by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs. In addition, an unmarried adult child of a qualified veteran who became permanently incapable of self-support due to a physical or mental disability before attaining the age of 18 years is also eligible.

PROOF OF ELIGIBILITY

Documentary evidence is required to provide proof and substantiate claim of military service, residency, marriage, children as well as dependent disability. It is the responsibility of the veteran, their survivors or legal representative to provide any evidence necessary to establish the eligibility of the veteran or dependent(s) prior to interment approval.

Proof of Honorable Service

The <u>DD Form 214 (Last Issued/States</u> "<u>Honorable</u>"), more commonly called a discharge or "Report of Separation from Active Duty", is the primary document used to verify honorable military service. Veterans unable to locate their DD Form 214 should contact their local Veterans Service Office for assis-

tance to obtain a replacement copy. Veterans claiming eligibility through service in Reserve Components or National Guard must present a "20 year letter" or proof of eligibility to receive retired pay or proof of receiving retired pay.

Proof of Residency

If a veteran cannot provide proof of entry into service from North Carolina, two (2) documents are required to establish residency. Primary documents are North Carolina Voter Registration, Jury Duty Form, Concealed Carry Permit, NC Gov't Assistance, State Personal Income Tax, State Property Tax, W2 with NC Income Tax Paid or Deed to Home. Secondary documents that can be considered are school or bank records. mortgages or official records from state or municipal agencies. A NC Drivers License cannot be accepted as proof of residency.

Dependent(s)

The primary document for verification of a spouse is a <u>Marriage Certificate</u>. Dependent children may be verified by a birth certificate or other legal documents such as adoption papers. For an adult dependent, a letter from the dependent's physician is required certifying the dependent became permanently incapable of self-support due to a physical or mental disability before the age of 18 years.