North Carolina State Veterans Affairs Commission (VAC)

The Veterans Affairs Commission functions to advise the Secretary of Military and Veterans Affairs on matters relating to the affairs of Veterans in North Carolina, to maintain a continuing review of the operation and budgeting of existing programs for Veterans and their dependents, and to promulgate rules and regulations concerning the awarding of scholarships for Children of North Carolina Veterans.


Commission Members Advisory Committee Members

Hon. Jane Campbell, Chairperson

Phillip McNair

Richard Fay

Lovay Wallace-Singleton

Charles Smith

Larry Pendry

David Morrow

John Scherer

Kristin Bunton

Larry Townsend

Christopher Dobbins

Patrick Smathers

Alexander Mendaloff

Jacob ‘Jake’ Roth, State Commander, American Ex-Prisoners of War

James Moore, State Commander, NC Department of the American Legion

Kenny Wallace, State Commander, AMVETS

Lisa Cornejo, Adjutant, Disabled American Veterans

Laura Hamilton, Adjutant, Marine Corps League

Victor Letourneaut, State Commander, Veterans of Foreign Wars

Frances Figueroa, State Commander, Military Order of the Purple Heart

William Dixon, Vice President, North Carolina State Council, Vietnam Veterans of America

Jim Brumit, President, North Carolina State Council, Military Officers Association of America

Eric Ratliff, Operations Officer, National Association of Black Veterans