Veterans Affairs


The North Carolina Department of Military and Veterans’ Affairs was established in September, 2015.  The current Secretary of the Department is LT GEN (Retired) Walter E. Gaskin.  Within the Department is the Division of Veterans’ Affairs, which previously was a part of the North Carolina Department of Administration.  The Assistant Secretary for Veterans’ Affairs is Terry E. Westbrook.  Sections within the Division are 1) Veterans’ Services, which operate 12 Veterans’ Service Centers (Canton, Morganton, Hickory, Charlotte, Clemmons, Fayetteville, Garner, Wilmington, Kinston, Wilson, Greenville, and Elizabeth City) and a State Service Office that is collocated with the United States Veterans Administration Regional Office in Winston-Salem, NC; 2) North Carolina State Veterans’ Homes Program, with homes located in Black Mountain, Fayetteville, Kinston, Kernersville, and Salisbury; 3) North Carolina State Veterans’ Cemetery Program, with cemeteries located in Black Mountain, Fayetteville, Goldsboro, and Jacksonville; and 4) The Children of Wartime Veteran Scholarship Program, operated from the Department headquarters in Raleigh.