North Carolina State Veterans Affairs Commission (VAC)

The Veterans Affairs Commission functions to advise the Secretary of Secretary of Military and Veterans Affairs on matters relating to the affairs of veterans in North Carolina, to maintain a continuing review of the operation and budgeting of existing programs for veterans and their dependents, and to promulgate rules and regulations concerning the awarding of scholarships for children of North Carolina Veterans.


Commission Members Advisory Committee Members

Jimmy G. “Tony” Braswell, Chairman

Elree T. Smith, Vice-chairman

Etteinne Mitchell

Michael Worley

Carol V. Phelps

Terry L. Hales

Joseph (Joe) W. Adamczyk

John C. Boesch

William L. Shillito

Leonard Scruggs

Gregory R. Woodard

Rev. Lenwood V. Long, Sr.

Jacob ‘Jake’ Roth, Commander

American Ex-Prisoners of War

David Shore, Commander

The American Legion

Randy Ferguson, Commander


Algernon B. Hill, Commander

Disabled American Veterans

Jeffrey D. Jones, Commandant

Marine Corps League

Doug Belvins, Commander

Veterans of Foreign Wars

James Hicks, Commander

Military Order of the Purple Heart

Rossie M. Nance, Jr., President

North Carolina State Council, Vietnam Veterans of America

Douglas Ehrhardt, President

North Carolina State Council, Military Officers Association of America